Skip to content
June 13, 2013 / iDriveWarships

Eat, Sleep, Ride

Capt. GabrielsonBy Capt. Don Gabrielson, Staff Officer for Commander Naval Surface Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet

I’m in the final hours of my race preps for the biggest/hardest event I’ve ever done in over 25 years of serious bike racing, the Tour Divide Mountain Bike Race. I will find my limits and expand them. The race begins on 14 June and will be a total of 2,745 miles on the Great Divide Mountain Bike Route from Banff (Alberta, Canada) to Antelope Wells, N.M.

I’m doing this because I believe in the power of pushing beyond your comfort zone in ways that draw together experience and knowledge—being safe, but not being too comfortable. I will overcome unexpected challenges, and feel the satisfaction that comes from doing something really hard. I’m probably more than a little nuts, too.

I’ve been riding 300-400+ miles a week for the past few weeks. My race goal is roughly double that, but at an easier pace. Eat. Sleep. Ride.

My race goal is higher mileage at a slower pace, way over 100 miles a day, but I don’t want to jinx myself by saying too much. I will do the most I can every day until I finish.

The Tour Divide satellite tracker updates every 10-30 minutes per rider. I will also try to update my blog if/when I’m able.

I look forward to showing the Navy colors and raising awareness for our Wounded Warriors support.

Capt. Gabrielson is the former commanding officer of USS Cape St. George (CG 71) based in San Diego.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. John & Jane Gabrielson / Jun 14 2013 1:48 pm

    Go Captain! Turn on you blue dot! Love, Mom and Dad & Lance and Tia xox

  2. John Pappas / Jun 15 2013 12:08 pm

    Go Don go.
    And yes, you are a little nuts.

Leave a Reply

